Delaware County OHGenWeb
History & Genealogy


This county is available for adoption.
Please contact the State Coordinator

Short About

The Delaware County, OHGenWeb is a proud part of the OHGenWeb and The USGenWeb Projects. You can Learn more About us. If Delaware County is not the County your looking for look at The OHGenWeb County Selection Page.


DELAWARE COUNTY was formed from Franklin county, February 10, 1808. It lies north of Columbus. The surface is generally level and the soil clay, except the river bottoms. About one-third of the surface is adapted to meadow and pasture, and the remainder to the plough. The Scioto and branches run through north and south–the Olentangy, Alum creek, and Walnut creek. Area, 450 square miles.[1]

The county was the birthplace of President Rutherford B. Hayes. It also is home to Ohio Wesleyan University, a school established by Methodists in 1842.[2]

County Facts

Created: February 10, 1808
Parent County: Franklin County
Named for: The Delaware Indians
County Seat: Delaware, Ohio

Neighboring County Links

Earliest Available Dates of Vital Records
Birth Marriage Death Land Probate Court
1867 1835 1867   1812 1818


This page was last modified: July 2024


Historical Collections of Ohio: An Encyclopedia of the State, Volume 1 By Henry Howe (1889) Page 548

"Delaware County". Ohio History Central. Ohio Historical Society..